You are here
Home > Soapie Teasers > Oby Ezekwesili, Zuriel Oduwole, Mo Abudu & More Win At The New African Woman Awards In London | See Full List

Oby Ezekwesili, Zuriel Oduwole, Mo Abudu & More Win At The New African Woman Awards In London | See Full List

The New Africa Woman Awards 2016
held at the Andaz Hotel in London to recognise African women who have
contributed immensely to the development of their societies and are doing extremely well in their various fields of endeavour within and outside the

Below is the full list of winners at the Awards:
New African Woman on the Rise Award: Zuriel Oduwole (Nigeria). The 14 year old is best known for her work on advocacy for the education of girls in Africa.
New African Woman in Sport Award: Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia).
Almaz was the winner of the 5000m course with a world-leading personal
best of 14:14:32 during the 2015 Championship in Beijing.
New African Woman in Arts and Culture: Amma Asante (Ghana). Amma is a BAFTA award-winning director and the producer of the British movie “Belle”.
New African Woman in Education: Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg (Kenya). She is the Director of the African Women in Agricultural Research and Development programme.
New African Woman Award for Media: Mo Abudu (Nigeria). Mo is the first African woman to launch a Pan-Africa TV channel.
New African Woman of the Year: Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi (South Africa). Moleketi is the Special Envoy on Gender at the African Development Bank.
New African Woman in Business: Olajumoke Adenowo (Nigeria).
She is referred to as the face of architecture in the Nigeria and is
called ‘Starchitech’ by CNN. Jumoke is the CEO of AD Consulting.
New African Woman in Finance and Banking: Arunma Oteh (Nigeria).
She was the former Director General of the Securities Exchanges
Commission of Nigeria and was recently named Vice President and
Treasurer at the World Bank.
New African Woman Award in Civil Society: Obiageli Ezekwesili (Nigeria). She was Nigeria’s former Minister of Education and Face of #BringBackOurGirls Campaign.
New African Woman in Politics & Public Office award: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (South Africa). She is currently the Chairperson of the AU Commission.
The New African Woman Social Media
Campaign which will run till the end of 2016 was also  launched at the
event. It is expected to engage African Women on their definitions of
The New African Woman.
The selection panel for this year’s awards included reGina Jane Jere, New African Woman Editor in Chief; Leila Ben Hassen, General Manger at IC Publications; Nkosana Moyo, Executive Chairman of Mandela Institute for Development Studies; Onike Nicol-Houra, Principal Business Development Officer at the African Development Bank; and Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman AllAfrica Global Media, and Member of UN Secretary-General’s High Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment.
The event was hosted by Zimbabwean star Vimbai Mutinhiri.

Leave a Reply